Support the Santa Barbara Saturday Market

The City of Santa Barbara is considering locations for the new police station and has selected the commuter parking lot on the corner of Cota and Santa Barbara Streets as one of the possibilities. This is the home of the Saturday Farmer’s market which for the last 35 years has been a community hub, pairing local farmers with members of the community. It is a primary income source for many of the member farmers and a primary food source for many shoppers.

It is unfortunate that the City would ask its inhabitants to take sides between two critically important functions – public safety and food security.

As a local farmer, this market is the heart and soul of my community. While there may be other possible locations for the Saturday market, the move would be a serious setback for the market association, one that could take years to recover from. Additionally, for some of our local farmers, a financial setback of this nature could be insurmountable.

We are asking the Mayor and City Council to please consider another location for the new police station.

We are asking our community to stand up for us by writing letters, attending meetings, and of course coming to the market.

Please show your support for the Saturday downtown Santa Barbara Farmers Market by attending one or more of the following meetings and by contacting your local representatives listed below:

Tuesday, November 6

2:00 pm

Santa Barbara City Council Meeting

Council Chamber at City Hall

Wednesday, November 7

5:15 – 7:00 p.m.

Faulkner Gallery, Central Library at 40 E. Anapamu Street

 

Turesday, November 13

5:15 – 7:00 p.m.

Franklin Neighborhood Center, Multipurpose Room at 1136 E. Montecito St

 

Thursday, November 15

5:15 – 7:00 p.m.

La Cumbre Junior High, Multipurpose Room on 2255 Modoc Road




Mayor

Cathy Murillo

805 564-5322

cmurillo@santabarbaraca.gov

 

Councilmember - District 1

Jason Dominguez

805 564-5324

jdominguez@santabarbaraca.gov

 

Councilmember - District 2

Randy Rowse

805 564-5325

rrowse@santabarbaraca.gov

 

Councilmember - District 3

Oscar Gutierrez

805 564-5394

ogutierrez@santabarbaraca.gov

Councilmember - District 4

Kristen Sneddon

805 564-5321

ksneddon@santabarbaraca.gov

 

Councilmember - District 5

Eric Friedman

805 564-5320

efriedman@santabarbaraca.gov

 

Councilmember - District 6

Gregg Hart

805 564-5319

ghart@santabarbaraca.gov

 

To contact the Mayor and the entire City Council:

SBCityCouncil@santabarbaraca.gov